RSS Feed

Optimism is Better than Despair!


image

I love reminders like this.  I love that the sun is shining today.  I could do without the mood swings but at the same time, I’m grateful that the swing is UP today after yesterday’s down.

Hope is indeed better fear and love much better than anger.  When I’m very low, I sometimes forget that even in depression, I HAVE A CHOICE!  I can dwell on those things that exacerbate the sadness, fear & anger, or I can look at my kids and know I have hope… I can pray for peace and healing, if not understanding… I can express myself in a more positive manner.

No illness is WHO I AM.  None define me.  I am a woman, a child of God, a mother, a wife, a friend, a sister, a daughter.  I’m not a disorder or a sickness.

I started blogging about my reality in order to hopefully help others struggling with mental illness to not feel so alone… by posting only the negative thoughts surrounding the depression, I’m doing a disservice to myself and anyone who takes the time to read my blog.  Because I know a lot of skills to cope with the bad feelings.  I know how to ignore the negative self-talk and distract myself with a good book or some upbeat music.  I know to remind myself that I’ve been through much worse & I’ve survived & that this won’t kill me either.  So, there.  Consider this a bit of an addendum to last night’s blog about depression.

I know I’ll feel that way again.  I also know it won’t last forever and…
I WILL SURVIVE (I love disco music).

4 responses »

  1. Yeah! It is always refreshing to read someones blog when it is optomistic!

    Reply
  2. I love this! I’ve needed a reminder too, so thanks for this. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

